Movie marathon: the survival guide.

On Friday night myself and 3 friends made our way down to the Prince Charles Cinema in Leicester Square for the Ultimate Batman Movie Marathon. I’ve never done one of these before but I’ve always wanted to. It really sounded like fun, pushing your sitting down skills to the very limit, holding your bladder until it almost bursts, getting to watch some great old and new films in a row and spending time in my favourite cinema. What could be better?!

The opportunity finally came up on Friday to attend the Batman marathon which started at 8.30pm Friday and ended at around 10.30am the next day.  Quite a feat in front of me. I want to stay and I need to stay. Some throws down a challenge like this and you have to do it. Especially if you’re self-confessed film geek such as myself.

batmanultimate490

Before you embark on something like this, you need to prepare in some way. There’s is a lot to think of and only after completing this did I realise what you should and should not do before, during and after a movie marathon. So here are my very own hints and tips for surviving the long hours you will spend staring at the big screen.

1. Fatty food for films.

I met my friends at 7.30pm and we went for a few drinks and Chinese food. Good start!  The food was a very good idea but maybe not Chinese. Maybe something more filling like pizza for example. It helps you last without spending too much on movie food. Plus it tastes  better! Oh I love Chinese food…moving on!

crispy duck

2. Shit before you sit.

I always stick to this no matter how long the film is. Something I hate is someone getting up to go to the toilet in the middle of a film. You may miss vital parts, they make noise when they leave and come back in and you can avoid all of this by going before the film! I know this isn’t everyone’s view, it’s just me, I’m just saying it’s annoying! In other words shit before you sit.

DSC02861

3. As soon as you’re free, pee!

Having said all of that, you can always go in between the films. The Prince Charles Cinema give you a good 5 – 10 minutes in between which helps for buying snacks, going for a smoke or just finally letting it all out! With Batman, there were 6 films so plenty of time in between, just hope you get the same kind of deal!

DSC01553
During the Batman marathon, my breakfast included a large coke and a big bag of Maltesers. Not a bad way to start my Saturday. Although maybe popcorn would have been a better idea…

going-out-popcorn

4. Move it, move it!

You’re sitting there. Only getting up for a few minutes at a time. A few hours at a time of being in the same position. It’s hard, no matter your age I promise. I once sat crossed-legged for 4 hours straight without getting up, I’m 28. It hurt. I kicked my legs out a lot in the final hour. What a feeling! Anyway, get up and move when you can. You may not need the toilet, be a smoker or want to eat or drink but get those legs moving. Shake your fat ass if you have to. I did! I did it a lot, it was great! If you don’t? Your legs go stiff, your knees hurt, have fun with that. MOVE IT MOVE IT!

keep-calm-and-shake-your-ass-10

5. Walk of fame

I left the cinema at 10.50am the next day and I walked to the station. I felt great! I felt like I have truly achieved something. Some may say a waste of time. I say no! It was an amazing feeling. I grinned all the way to the station. I was called a dirty stop out but how can this be? Besides the fact that I didnt shower or brush my teeth, I was totally clean, I swear! But what a great way to start my weekend. It will leave you with a great feeling , no matter what. You may be tired, you may have ruined your diet, but honestly, so what? You’ve just watched some great films, with some great friends (unless they do what my mate did and leave EARLY. Poor effort), a perfect night out and you won’t feel hungover the next day.

SO there you have it, my experience and learnings from my first ever movie marathon. From what I know now, this will not be my last. Follow these rules and you’ll survive the night, you will go home a hero.

One thought on “Movie marathon: the survival guide.

  1. Pingback: The Megaticket. | neelsreeldeal

Leave a Reply

