Reasons to go to the cinema by yourself

What’s so bad about spending time by yourself? It seems as if it’s still considered taboo. I lived in Sydney for 6 months where the only people I know were family. So they have their own things happening and I was forced to spend time by myself. I embraced it! I loved it! I went shopping, to the cinema, out for meals and around about the city, exploring it as much as I could. All by myself. There’s nothing wrong with it. Especially going to the cinema by yourself.

I’m going say that whilst I do prefer going to the cinema by myself, I’ve never had a bad experience when I’ve gone with a friend (unless there are strangers who just don’t shut up, that’s out of my control unfortunately). I like going with my friends, but I also think there’s a solid argument in going by yourself. Allow me to convince you, or at least try to.

pacino

When you go

When you go with friends, whether it’s one person or a group, your schedules have to match, you have to agree on a time and then meet up before the film. Fairly standard procedure, but not one I normally enjoy organising. People are busier now more than they have ever been, so I read recently and it makes sense. Our jobs are so much more demanding, trying to organise any sort of meet up is difficult. July is quickly approaching and there are still friends who I’ve not seen this year at all. So, put away your diaries and calendars, get up and go on your own. Chances are that you’ll see others there with just themselves as company.

clock

What you watch

There’s normally a good selection of films to watch so you could probably agree on something. But there’s no guarantee. If you’re a big film fan like myself, chances are you’ll know what films are which are not the big budget movies most people go to see. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with them, but when it’s your choice, and your choice alone, you have the rare chance to pick any film showing anywhere you want to go. Think about that. No compromise, no discussions, no arguments, no disagreements. Just one simple choice. What do you want to see?

screen

Seating arrangements

When I think about that, with the people I’ve gone to the cinema with recently, (hello George, Michael and Ness!) this hasn’t been a problem, I don’t think that it ever is. But we did get there early to buy our allocated tickets so we had the choice of sitting in the back row. Perfect. But when it’s unallocated, what then? Some like the back, some the middle, but no one at the front! And then, the middle of the row? The aisle? The end by the wall? There’s a lot of options to consider. Before I enter a movie theatre, assuming I know it as well as I know the Prince Charles Cinema in Leicester Square, I think of where I want to sit, where did it not work last time? Where was it perfect before? Where will I not be disturbed? So many questions to consider. When you’re alone, you really can pick and choose. Unless it’s frustratingly jam packed.

 

movie-theater-seats

 

No sharing, of anything

There’s always someone who goes to the cinema who will enjoy the film and the entire movie-going experience. However, they may enjoy it at your expense. You buy the popcorn but they don’t want any however they end up eating half of yours. Then what happens? They’re thirsty and there goes half of your drink. Oh what’s that? The arm rest? You don’t need it do you? Of course not. Are you starting to see a pattern emerging? That person, and not everyone you watch a film with is like this, will pay for their ticket but get a lot more out of the experience than you. Yes you’re there for the film (and in my case the trailers, LOVE watching them) but these lovely added perks of a big bucket of popcorn, or chocolate or a huge drink and the wonderful armrest, all to make it even more enjoyable are taken away when someone else is there. No sharing is so much better in the cinema

popcorn

You are not alone

I went to the cinema on Sunday to watch Fruitvale Station. I wasn’t the only one who went by themselves. There’s some sort of taboo in doing things by yourself, it’s remarkable how much more you can do by yourself. You don’t have anyone to answer to, that day / outing is all about you. And others do it too. This weekend, there was myself, 3 couples and 5 others who were on their own. If the couples or groups judge you, you’ll never know it. You’re there to watch a movie, or eat a meal, enjoy an exhibition and so on. When I reached home, my cousin says she just doesn’t understand how I can go by myself. When you really think about it, watching a film isn’t a social experience, you’re not there to speak to anyone, you’re not there to interact at all.

you are not alone

When you do anything by yourself, the trick is to not care and enjoy yourself. The day is yours, this is your time, use it as you wish and let those naysayers carry on as they are. At the end of the day, it’s just you and a movie, what more could you possibly want? Here’s to you!

gatsby

5 thoughts on “Reasons to go to the cinema by yourself

  1. Great post! Yeah I hate the stigma that is attached with going to the cinema by yourself. Of course some of my best cinema experiences have been with friends but I really value those trips by myself too. Your solitude properly allows you to decide for yourself what you thought of the film, although you might not think so it can be easy for the opinions of others to sway your own opinions on film – even if it is just your mates! My conclusion is that the cinema is awesome regardless of company, it can enhance a viewing experience but the lack of it in no way detracts from the experience and can actually add things that increase the value of this time.

  2. Great post! I get really annoyed when people frown upon going to movies alone. They’re mostly the people that don’t get to them that often themselves to realize that so many people do it. Like you said, it doesn’t take away from the experience at all.

  3. Totally agree. I see no reason to go with anyone most of the time. It’snot a reflection of your social life and there are so many better things to do socially than go to the movies. Movies are a silent place and it’s just you and the film. Just for old time’s sake I suppose I go with someone

  4. Pingback: How to avoid the annoying idiots at the cinema | Neels Reel Deel

Leave a Reply

